Fishing
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Home | Forum | Help | Chat | Search | Membermap | ProShop | CharterMember | Login | Register
Myfishfinder.com Equipment board sponsored in part by:
MarCum Technologies
Check out MyHuntingForum.com Just like iceshanty and myfishfinder only for the hunter.
+  MyFishFinder Forum
|-+  MyFishFinder Tips and Techniques
| |-+  Fishing Equipment
| | |-+  Mounting a fish finder transducer on a trolling motor?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Mounting a fish finder transducer on a trolling motor?  (Read 5379 times)
TheDL
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 949
Location: Kingston, ON



« on: May 27, 2011, 10:47 AM »

I want to mount a fish finder transducer on my trolling motor "arm" but I'm not sure how/if this is possible?  Just looking at it, it seems like it'll be a problem b/c with my trolling motor, when you raise and lower it, it slides "through a sleeve" as it comes up and that alone would cause issues with the wire from the transducer to the screen.

Anyone try this or have a tip for me?  I really don't want to try to drill/fish the wire throught the trolling motor pole to the bottom, but that's all I can think of. huh
Logged

tight lines....
BBK
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 1,012
Location: Quad Cities - IA



« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 03:56 PM »

http://tinyurl.com/42dyh7a
Logged
TheDL
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 949
Location: Kingston, ON



« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 10:58 AM »

BBK - thanks man- that's pretty much what I'm going for.   I still have a problem though, the wire needs to "wrap up" the trolling motor shaft to the boat deck (have a look at thier pic).  My trolling motor shaft slides through a tight collar as you raise it to the "out of water" resting position.  Anyone tried this?  What are you supposed to do with the wire?  My only idea is to run it through the center of the shaft of the motor "arm", but I don't want to drill holes in the trolling motor mount.
 huh
Logged

tight lines....
BBK
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 1,012
Location: Quad Cities - IA



« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2011, 11:17 AM »

Run it on the outside, with a wire tie at the bottom and one at the top, then enough slack to move the shaft. When its up you will have to tuck it under or something, but thats the price you pay for those fancy motors.
Logged
TheDL
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 949
Location: Kingston, ON



« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2011, 11:23 AM »

BBK - that seems pretty simple, maybe I'll give 'er a go.  thanks.
Logged

tight lines....
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines

Home | Forum | Help | Chat | Search | Membermap | ProShop | CharterMember | Login | Register
Contact | Disclaimer | Sponsor Myfisfinder.com | About
© 2004- MyFishFinder.com
All Rights Reserved.
Ice Fishing @ www.iceshanty.com Fishing @ www.myfishfinder.com Hunting @ www.myhuntingforum.com
RSS feed for this boards last ten postsRSS ?