FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: monster bluegill  (Read 3106 times)

indianahooker

monster bluegill
« on: Jun 14, 2016, 06:10 AM »
2 years ago, it seemed people were posting pics of nice gills(8"+), all the time.  i was catching them too.  they seemed to be in several lakes i tried also.   now those same lakes are giving up 6-7"fish.  the pics and reports have all but vanished.  im just getting started on gilling this summer, but its starting out like last years season.  lots of 6-7" fish.  very few nice ones.  how many of you are catching big vs small gills or have noticed a difference, either way?  maybe i just need to change locations?

not asking, and please dont post lake names.

tater140

Re: monster bluegill
« Reply #1 on: Jun 14, 2016, 06:38 AM »
I have been targeting walleye this spring.  I we t crappie fishing a couple of times also.  Usually mid summer i will start night fishing for gills, and have tupically been able to find some nice sized ones.

staubsaugen

« Reply #2 on: Jun 14, 2016, 08:39 AM »
my main bluegill lake was still full of 8+inch gills.  i'm hoping to get back there again soon to catch some more for the freezer!

bigr

« Reply #3 on: Jun 14, 2016, 09:06 AM »
Spawn is still going on and fishing is good for size on Caldwell. Lake has never been this clear this time of year so you can see all the beds all around lake, doesn't makes them any easier to catch.They are deep and they see you sooner than you see them so I don't target beds cause it doesn't add much to the catch. Lot's of 9 1/2 to 11 in fish and it's just getting good now.

rivereddy

« Reply #4 on: Jun 14, 2016, 12:43 PM »
I have also noticed the reduction in reports on mongo sized gills.  I have noticed as well, that
the natural lakes in the northern part of the state seem to put out, on average, bigger gills than
the manmade lakes here in Central and Southern Indiana.  (Middle aged strip pits seem to be the