FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: New Lund question  (Read 13567 times)

LooseEye90

New Lund question
« on: Jul 21, 2016, 07:28 AM »
Hi all. Looking for some different opinions from those more experienced. I've been fishing out of my 16' Grumman for about 10 years now and it's time to upgrade. Fell in love with the Lund crossover 1875 and my wife doesn't mind it either. Question is how slow can I get with the 150merc 4s that's on it? It doesn't have the smart gauge. Does anyone have  experience here they could share? I fully expect it to run much faster than my current rig at troll.

Has anyone with the same boat mounted a kicker? I know a kicker is the way to go but it doesn't seem possible to mount the kicker to the transom without a plate. I have seen some photos where it looks like a portion of the deck was removed to accommodate but want to be sure before I buy. Going to call the dealer later and ask but wanted to poll you folks as well. I'd like a kicker I can remove and dual purpose it for my row boat, so maybe a 6hp tohatsu/merc, any thoughts here?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Knot there yet

Re: New Lund question
« Reply #1 on: Jul 21, 2016, 08:52 AM »
Million things you can do to slow you down. A kicker will get you home just not that small (9.9 min.)Max. Hp for that boat is 225 or 200? Rule of thumb is always max. Power a boat. I have ifs1800 pro v w/150 two stroke and I can go just under 2 mph. Crossover loaded (livewells)with gear and four adults gonna take away your hole shot.if you don't max out hp you'll regret it for ever. New mercury's great on gas at troll and top end. I drag 5 gallon buckets if I want slower than 2mph.

Mac Attack

« Reply #2 on: Jul 21, 2016, 09:21 AM »
Go with the kicker.
Why would you want to put all those low speed trolling hours on the large EXPENSIVE motor.

The big motor will troll down, and you could use drif socks or buckets, or a trolling plate, etc., but why do it?

Get the kicker and feel good.