FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: One of my farm raised yellow perch is the blue variety  (Read 7959 times)

taxid

Was sorting tilapia, bluegill, and yellow perch today from two indoor recirculating aquaculture tanks, and noticed one looked darker in the water. When I scooped it up it was blue. Kind of neat as I've been hatching and growing yellow perch for several years now, and this is the first blue one. Mounted one for a customer a couple of years ago that was caught in a local lake.

Sorry no picture as I was doing all the sorting and moving of the fish to temporary outdoor fish cages myself, and didn't want them to linger to long in the five gallon buckets I was moving them in.

Maybe I'll get a picture next them I  move the fish. I'll plant this fish in my grown out pond next year and will follow it for several years to record the growth.
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

taxid

Re: One of my farm raised yellow perch is the blue variety
« Reply #1 on: Oct 19, 2016, 04:01 PM »
thats cool man.  i have cleaned thousands of perch but never a blue one.  do you have grow beds( aquaponics ) set up with your tanks?  been wanting to do that in the basement the last few years but havent goten to it.  do you sell the tilapia to people for food?  sister loves eating them things.

I've done aquaponics before outside but prefer to stick with just the fish. Inside the lighting gets expensive and it raises the humidity levels too much. (The plants are worse than the fish tanks.)

I don't sell any food fish. Not large enough for that market, and it's not only less profitable, it requires I have a designated facility for cleaning that is HACCP rated. Everything stainless shell, sterile etc. I could sell them live though.