Fishing
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Home | Forum | Help | Chat | Search | Membermap | ProShop | CharterMember | Login | Register
Myfishfinder.com Equipment board sponsored in part by:
MarCum Technologies
+  MyFishFinder Forum
|-+  MyFishFinder Tips and Techniques
| |-+  Fishing Equipment
| | |-+  Help with transponder location
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Help with transponder location  (Read 385 times)
khecken1@comcast.net
Newbie
*
Posts: 2

« on: May 23, 2017, 01:32 PM »

Hi all, I am new to the forum and new to using fish finders in general. Due to our lake level being low I wanted to add a depth finder to my 21’ StarCraft and the fish finder was a bonus that I hope to use to rekindle my love of fishing. Little did I know how sensitive locating the transponder would be until I Googled and Youtubed the process but after an hour or more I still could not find a hull design matching mine. I think I know suitable location based on my research but would appreciate some verification from those with experience before I start drilling some holes. To complicate the issue further I have a slip so when I put the boat in the water I would prefer to not remove it until fall which will make tweaking the transponder location difficult. Yeah I know, wishful thinking…. Thank you in advance for any assistance or advice you can provide.




Logged
Jethro
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 882
Location: Weare, NH


I fish, therefore I am... always buying gear


« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2017, 02:16 PM »

No, that is probably not a good place to put the ducer. It's possible that there will be a lot of interference in that area when on plane due to the chine. Also make sure you are mounting on the correct side depending on which way your prop rotates.
Logged
Attack
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 2,891
Location: Cheektowaga, NY and also a place on Point Breeze - Lake Erie


« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2017, 02:38 PM »

It is exactly where it should be mounted as it's the only (relative) horizontal surface on the transom.
And the least likely spot for turbulence.
(Sorry Jethro)

If you were to mount it on the "V", you would have a portion of the transducer below the hull line and this would create more turbulence.
Unless of course if you mounted it on the same angle as the hull.
But that would shoot the beam off to the side and down, on a hypotenuse, causing bad (deeper than normal) readings.

And that side of the motor is the correct side with a standard right hand rotation propeller.  (Like Jethro said)

Good luck.
Mac
Logged
khecken1@comcast.net
Newbie
*
Posts: 2

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2017, 04:17 PM »

Okay, thanks guys.... hummm two totally different answers. Now I guess I know why I was confused in the first place..... and then I find these two recommendations......   undecided




maybe I'll flip a coin.   cheesy grin


Logged
filetandrelease
Sr. Member
***
Posts: 6,526
Location: NY



« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2017, 11:11 AM »

There are many you tubes on this , check them out ,mine is set up just like the lowrance you tube , mine seems to work  ok
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines

Home | Forum | Help | Chat | Search | Membermap | ProShop | CharterMember | Login | Register
Contact | Disclaimer | Sponsor Myfisfinder.com | About
© 2004- MyFishFinder.com
All Rights Reserved.
Ice Fishing @ www.iceshanty.com Fishing @ www.myfishfinder.com Hunting @ www.myhuntingforum.com
RSS feed for this boards last ten postsRSS ?