FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Any recommendation for inland trout lakes  (Read 3540 times)

taxid

Any recommendation for inland trout lakes
« on: Aug 27, 2017, 06:13 PM »
for good size brown trout in Michigan?

No coldwater forage base down here in in Indiana with less and less lakes planted with trout. Zooplankton is about it for forage. Smelt have disappeared from one of my favorite lakes. Trout seem to be slow growing and skinny.

I have a lot of experience with trolling downriggers etc.

Or what river mouths are best for browns on lake Michigan?

Years ago got some large browns in the Manistee river mouth. Not interested in kings.
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

taxid

Re: Any recommendation for inland trout lakes
« Reply #1 on: Aug 28, 2017, 05:17 AM »
Looks like Bear Lake has a history of good size browns and gets a large planting every year.
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

boondox

« Reply #2 on: Aug 28, 2017, 08:35 AM »
That and check out crystal lake up by Frank fort michigan.. and sleeping beat sand dunes crystal from what I heard has smelt. But have not been up that way in a few years.. we would stay at intrlocen state park..  there was another two places to stay bolth primitive camping one sleeping bear sand dunes..  the other a small veterans park in between frank fort and intrlocen michigan I think was federal camping .. 

boondox

« Reply #3 on: Aug 28, 2017, 08:48 AM »
Also platte lk. Just north of crystal lk. Might hold smelt and trout.. the veterans camp ground I believe is in honor  michigan .. any how duck and green lakes are bass pike pan fish lakes also could try north of traverses city like Petoskey michigan.. etc

boondox

« Reply #4 on: Aug 28, 2017, 09:05 AM »