FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Dipsy divers  (Read 7860 times)

fishegg

Dipsy divers
« on: Aug 01, 2017, 07:57 AM »
I have plenty of leadcore, and a downrigger, but am considering trying out dipsy divers or the equivalent. Spending a week at the lake(winni) the middle of August and figured I would have time to mess with something new. I have zero experience with them and appreciate any help regarding techniques, sizes, colors, brands???? Want to get away from reeling in a fish with the dead action of leadcore. Do's and don'ts?

Any anecdotal input is welcome please. Thank you.

Seahunt

• Coffin Dodger @ IS
Re: Dipsy divers
« Reply #1 on: Aug 01, 2017, 08:25 AM »
Lots of info on the interweb about dipsy divers.
They're not used a lot on Winni.
You really should have a wire set up for dipsys.

If you want to give them a try, I'd seriously look at the "slide divers by lite bite".
You can get away with heavier mono but braid or wire is preferred.
If you pm me, I have all the above (except wire) that are looking for a new home.
I also have jet divers and tripz divers which are non directional but probably more effective on Winni.

fishinjohn

« Reply #2 on: Aug 01, 2017, 08:45 AM »

You really should have a wire set up for dipsys.
I run dipsys on lake erie with 30lb braid and NEVER have a problem.. I know 3 charters and they all use braid as well, so I really don't think wire is necessary.. jmo
I use all black #3's with a black ring as well... they can be a very effective tool for sure !

Seahunt

• Coffin Dodger @ IS
« Reply #3 on: Aug 01, 2017, 11:10 AM »
I run dipsys on lake erie with 30lb braid and NEVER have a problem.. I know 3 charters and they all use braid as well, so I really don't think wire is necessary.. jmo
I use all black #3's with a black ring as well... they can be a very effective tool for sure !

You really should have a wire set up for dipsys

How deep are you fishing on Erie?

"they can be a very effective tool for sure"