FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Crayfish in Massachusetts  (Read 6976 times)

hi4noon

Crayfish in Massachusetts
« on: Aug 15, 2017, 03:44 PM »
Hi everyone,. I've been away for fishing for about 10 years now, ever since I graduated college. Can anyone recommend good places to catch crayfish?? My brother in law's birthday is in 2 weeks and I'd love take him fishing if I can catch enough crayfish before then. I live up in Methuen, MA so anything up here or even down around Lexington where he lives would be perfect. Thanks in advance.

lowaccord66

Re: Crayfish in Massachusetts
« Reply #1 on: Aug 15, 2017, 04:11 PM »
Tackle shops near quabbin sell them otherwise most rocky streams will have some.

ICEHOLE

« Reply #2 on: Aug 15, 2017, 04:58 PM »
rocky slow moving streams will be easiest to find and catch...some seem to be loaded more then others..i know a great spot but long ways from u
Trout, LMB, SMB, BullHeads, Lakers, Pike, Carp

CatchAndReleaseColin

« Reply #3 on: Aug 15, 2017, 05:28 PM »
Call around to the tackle shops first - they come thru as bait sometimes
Otherwise they should be easy enough to find and catch.  They are everywhere around Wachusett res

hi4noon

« Reply #4 on: Aug 15, 2017, 06:20 PM »
Thanks for your responses guys. Yea I know they're in most bodies of water but I was hoping to save a day of driving around in search of a hot spot if someone living in North Eastern MA saw this post. I called a couple bait should but no luck.... Hopefully someone local to me sees this. thanks again!

The Jigger

• Member of the G.O.D.S.
« Reply #5 on: Aug 15, 2017, 07:24 PM »
Plugs pond Haverhill after dark

Knot there yet

« Reply #6 on: Aug 15, 2017, 09:25 PM »
Merrimack river .
rubber boots walk the bank scoop out ever beer can you find should be trapped inside can. A long dip net will help you reach farther.
Trull Brook golf coarse ponds. Minnow traps
 Power bait 4" chigger crawls (motor oil) weighted hook. My number one plastic bait.for my $$