FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Just got back from Clayton - arggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh  (Read 2981 times)

Imbit

Just got back from Clayton - arggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
« on: Sep 03, 2017, 05:34 PM »
Been fishing Clayton area since the early 80's - several times a year.  Used to fish tournaments up there, so lets just say I'm not a novice at fishing the bays and islands for pike and largemouth - never learned to fish deep for smallies like alot of guys do nowdays.   I'm old enough to remember how much better the fishing was before the clear water.  

So fished 5 days, covered a ton of water & the grand total consisted of 2 smallies under a foot, 1 rock bass, 1 gobie.    No exaggeration - worst fishing I've seen ... EVER.   Ratio must have been 500 casts to every dink fish.    Wouldn't touch the usual money baits such as topwater, spinnerbaits of all shapes & sizes, senko's off/under docks, crankbaits, twister tail grubs.    Fished all the usual weedy spots from a foot to 15 ft deep.    Weather was perfect first 4 days of the trip.   It's been a bit colder than average last couple weeks, so it's not like a big nasty cold front came in right before I arrived in NY and shut the bite off like a switch - fish should have acclimated to the slightly colder temps.

Just curious if anybody has an explanation for this historical lousey fishing ?    I really don't know if the fish have all moved to deep water now that the zebra mussels have made it crystal clear (Im' sure this applies for smallmouth, I just can't believe pike and largemouth have moved out of the weeds/bays to deep water); or perhaps the historic high water this spring/summer has messed up the entire ecosystem (thus, killed the bite); or has the goby infestation completely changed the food chain; or if I just need to change my ways and start fishing deeper (if thats the case, I'll take up golf - hate fishing deep).