FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Bullhead Newbie here needs some help from the pros  (Read 11816 times)

Busby

Bullhead Newbie here needs some help from the pros
« on: Jul 19, 2004, 03:08 PM »
I have never fished for them or any kind of catfish. I need to know a few things.
How deep should I fish?
What time is good?
And where is the stinger on them?

Any info would be a great help. Thanks.

reubenpa

Re: Bullhead Newbie here needs some help from the pros
« Reply #1 on: Jul 19, 2004, 05:06 PM »
I am not a pro, and I hope others answer you but Spring is best, and the only time I will keep them as they get sick tasting in the summer.  They get them from shore a lot in the Finger lakes NY in the spring.  Also catfish don't have a stinger, they have horn like fins on the sides right below the gills and the dorsal fin.   the "sting" is actually a puncture type of a wound that burns. Poke yourself with a crabapple thorn to demonstrate. Same idea.  If you don't alow it to poke you the are safe. 
Just wanna be fishing, not just wishin

UPSTATE

« Reply #2 on: Apr 27, 2005, 04:46 PM »
You should fish off the bottom with nightcrawlers and the best time to fish for them is in the dark hours the rest is up to you  ;)
just tryin to get her done

Original FISHER Jodoin

« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2005, 12:33 PM »
The best thing that works for me is Catfish Bait flavored BLOOD. I fish for them at night with a nice big light.. ;D
GIT _ R _ DONE

bigdave1018

« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2005, 04:03 PM »