FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Your Opinion????  (Read 2926 times)

JimP

Your Opinion????
« on: Mar 16, 2006, 02:07 PM »
What's everyone's opinion on the effect of the full moon phase on fishing, in general. Personally, it's not my favorite time to fish, even at night. We just never seem to get much during this 4-7 day period each month, how about you?  What's the reasoning behind it too, I wonder? -Jim

walleyechaser

• Ghetto Fab
Re: Your Opinion????
« Reply #1 on: Mar 16, 2006, 02:13 PM »
I don't notice anything different except I can see better at night.  I know there is a lot of talk and theories about it but I've yet to see proof that fishing is any better.  Its just my personal experience.  I'm no profeesional or biologist.  I think weather has more of an impact than anything else.
care for a warm up?

Official authority on the Kraken

The "Habitual Offender" of the MIRC - I need a clear glass plate

Pikeguy

« Reply #2 on: Mar 16, 2006, 02:21 PM »
I don't know about the fishing part as I always catch fish...ha-ha lol ::). But...I know I don't sleep worth a darn during and around a full moon and I would expect it does have some influence on animals and fish as well.

ol crawdad

• ALWAYS AN ADVENTURE!!!
« Reply #3 on: Mar 16, 2006, 02:35 PM »
I don't like the full moon generally, but I think it does focus fish into feeding in a specific window of time.  I just haven't put that much time into figuring it out...yet.  I do use the moon for deer hunting, and that works well, altho the rut and weather affect that as well. 
Oh Lord - there he is, it feels like a big one, please don\'t let me lose him, I\'ve never caught one this big before.  I\'ll try not to horse him, and if I land him, I promise to release him, and make a graphite replica, if my wife says it\'s ok.  Thank you for the Rapalas...

Reel Wet Ride

• Team Michigan
« Reply #4 on: Mar 16, 2006, 04:43 PM »