FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Humminbird Piranha Max 150 not marking fish  (Read 4114 times)

Scalloper

• 73 lbs Atlantic Hal june 2009
Humminbird Piranha Max 150 not marking fish
« on: May 23, 2011, 09:18 AM »
I bought a Huminbird Piranha Max 150 portable a week ago. I used it 2 times salmon fishing but did not mark 1 fish. Yesterday I went to West Grand and borrowed a buddies boat with a Eagle Fish ID. I marked tons of fish with the Eagle but not 1 with the humminbird. I had them both running at the same time most of the day. Althoe the Humminbird does a great job detailing the bottom it will not mark fish. I have been using bottom recorders for over 30 years and I made many changes in the adjustments all 3 days I used this recorder but to no avail. In the past I have fished with other guys that have had "cheaper" recorders that mark fish as good or better then expensive recorders but I must say for now the Piranha Max 150 is not for me.
 Any others had this issue?
Its a lazy man that can't find his wife a second job

perchgypsy

Re: Humminbird Piranha Max 150 not marking fish
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2011, 03:55 PM »
i been messing around with my cousins new 591 bird and i noticed on his there is a fish id and alarm and both were off when new...have you checked out the manual at all ...not sure if yours is similar but look into it
if the sesitivity is off you might need to turn that up as well but not to much just enough to mark a decent fish,
say if it goes to 10... 4or 5 should be good

eyedoktr

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2011, 06:00 PM »
i been messing around with my cousins new 591 bird and i noticed on his there is a fish id and alarm and both were off when new...have you checked out the manual at all ...not sure if yours is similar but look into it
if the sesitivity is off you might need to turn that up as well but not to much just enough to mark a decent fish,
say if it goes to 10... 4or 5 should be good