FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Flathead rigging??  (Read 6468 times)

xrhino

• MMMM! Beer!
Flathead rigging??
« on: Sep 12, 2006, 01:03 PM »
Last year, around this time, a friend and I watched a guy haul in an enormous flathead while walleye fishing near the Mississippi.  It took him almost an hour and I was very impressed.  We are going to be back in the same place this coming weekend fishing for gills, which can also be very good at this time of year.  We got to thinking that we should try for those flatheads if we get our fill of the gills.  We've seen fish come out of here that bottomed out a 50# scale, so I'm very excited at the prospect of a big fish.  I've been fishing for channels for a few years, but I've never targeted flatheads, so I've got some questions...

We'll be in a boat, anchored near a dam in 45-60 FOW.

I'll be using a 7ft heavy action musky rod paired with an Abu 6500 C3 and 80# Dacron Tuff-line.  Any thoughts or objections?  Too much?  Not enough ( I hope not, it's as big as I have)?

Do I need to use backing on the reel with Dacron?  If so, which knot would you choose to attach backing to main line... albright, uni-uni, nail, surgeon's etc?

We think we should use lively gills (legal here) on circle hooks.  Other suggestions?  What knots would you use on the terminal end?

I was thinking of either a 3-way rig or just a slip sinker similar to channel cat fishing.  Any other rigging options that I should consider?

Thanks for any help in advance.  If I'm lucky enough to get one of these pigs in the boat, you'll get partial credit (translated as: first round is on me) when we meet.
Pain is weakness leaving the body.

High Chancellor of WIRC and Provost of Potent Potable Procurement

Lindz

• "Jo Jo Running"
Re: Flathead rigging??
« Reply #1 on: Sep 12, 2006, 02:02 PM »
Lucas - your line should hold up fine.  ;D