FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Bixpy trolling motor for my kayak  (Read 1660 times)

Johnnh

Bixpy trolling motor for my kayak
« on: Apr 16, 2023, 01:04 PM »
Anyone out there using a Bixpy J2 trolling motor on their kayak?

I have an Old Town Sportsman 120 PDL kayak and i plan on putting an electric trolling motor on it. I have read all sorts of documentation and watched video's on the J2. Its centainly not the least expensice option, but it looks like a reliable solution. I want to expand the distances I can travel so i am not worn down when getting the kayak back on my truck.
Note: i wont be using the steering control on the J2 since i have a rudder on the kayak
Looking forward to all good, bad and ugly comments
Thanks,
John

Jethro

• I fish, therefore I am... always buying gear
Re: Bixpy trolling motor for my kayak
« Reply #1 on: Apr 18, 2023, 07:32 AM »
I have no experience with this company or the motors, my only concern is how proprietary everything is. And if anything happens to the company it means you are out of luck. I couldn't see from my 60 seconds of looking over the website, do you have to use their batteries? Because that would make me super nervous. It would be a disaster if the company fails and is gone overnight. Then there is the chance the company makes it big, which can be even worse, because then it may sell to a big competitor and the tech changes- industry calls it planned obsolescence and is a real strategy. It's the same reason I subscribe to a drill powered ice auger rather than something like an Ion auger. With an Ion you are a slave to their proprietary battery technology. Very little risk now that we see Ion has become one of the biggest augers out there, but 10 years ago, anyones guess. I know it's similar to owning a Milwaukee drill with their proprietary battery tech, but you have very little risk that Milwaukee will eliminate the M18 battery tech at any point. That's my 2 cents FWIW!

Johnnh