FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Steelhead fishing  (Read 2584 times)

keva

Steelhead fishing
« on: Dec 06, 2012, 08:38 PM »
I was wondering if y'all good give me some advice on steelhead fishing. I have never done it before, but would like to try my hand at it. When and where do they run? Where can I find some good information on steelhead fishing? Perhaps a good book to read on the subject. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

kc

Re: Steelhead fishing
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2012, 09:01 PM »
2012 Salmon River- Salmon and Steelhead thread. There is 342 pages of reports and tips on the current conditions.

keva

« Reply #2 on: Dec 06, 2012, 10:01 PM »
Thanks, I will look through through it!

Dr. IceGeek

« Reply #3 on: Dec 07, 2012, 04:48 PM »
Just FYI - there are TONS of places in this state to fish steelhead.  Don't limit yourself to thinking that is the only place....virtually all of the Lake Ontario and Lake Erie tributaries in this state will get runs of steelhead.  Usually starts in the fall - the fish will begin running into the streams and rivers.  They will continue to trickle in to the system through srping and spawn in the spring, at which point they will drop back to the lake.  Many fish will wionter over in the streams and rivers, and some will run the river in the spring just prior to spawning.   To be successful you will need to understand where they hold in the river, what type of caits they are keying in on and focus on the correct presentation.  All are critical if you want top be successful on a regular basis instead of just accidentally hitting fish here and there.  Feel free to PM me with specific questions....

joshjj2010

« Reply #4 on: Dec 08, 2012, 04:06 PM »