FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Reservoir Browns  (Read 8211 times)

redhooker

Reservoir Browns
« on: Sep 12, 2008, 12:47 AM »
I have been fishing the Roundout Reservoir for a few years now for lake trout with very good sucess.  However, I am not able to hook up with any browns.  I have tried everything.  Lead core, downriggers, anchoring and jigging.  I'm marking fish, putting the bait, spoon, lure right in front of fish no browns, just lakers.  How fast should I be trolling for the browns?  Are they line shy?  I'm using 12 pound floro leaders.  Should I use christmas tree rigs?  Flashers with a fly, short leaders, long leaders?  I'm beside myself here trying to catch these suckers.

Scientist

Re: Reservoir Browns
« Reply #1 on: Sep 12, 2008, 02:42 PM »
Without knowing the specifics of the reservoir such as depth, how deep the thermo cline is, or the forage base can’t really help you really target them. One guess that I can make is that you could be fishing a little too deep for brown trout if you always catch lakers. At least in the lakes I fish the brown trout are generally found in the thermo cline ranging from 15 to 60 feet deep. The water temp that you are looking for is 60 degrees for browns where as lakers live in water temps of 55 and colder. In other words, try a shallower presentation because you might be fishing tooo deep for the brown trout

Jimmy

• "Fish Till Ya' Puke"
« Reply #2 on: Sep 12, 2008, 03:14 PM »
I used to fish the Rondout and Neversink Res's a ton when I lived right by both of them near Red Hill...

The browns are at the 55A bridge in big numbers in early April- but then move out by the 1st of May...

Crocodile Spoons are the best artificial going on those reservoirs if you can't get sawbellies that early in the season...  The browns in the Rondout are from the "Seaforellen" strains- not "German" browns... 

So they will look JUST like Landlocked Salmon the first time you see them...