FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Trolling Stickbaits and Weight???  (Read 8551 times)

Thor

Trolling Stickbaits and Weight???
« on: Apr 28, 2010, 03:47 PM »
I haven't done much trolling, but I'd like to start.  I picked up a well-used 14 ft. v-hull utility last year, and I'd like to do some trolling for trout and walleyes on small lakes.  Over the years, I have amassed a very small collection of various hardbaits (floating minnows, Shad Raps, Husky Jerks, Rogues, Long As, etc.)  Now and again I come across some very good deals on stickbaits, and I would like to stock up when the price is right.

My dilema is, because I am new to trolling, I don't have a lot of personal experience with what works best.  Let's say that I find a bin of various Rapala's at 50% off the original price and I want to stock up.  What models should I buy for (relatively) controlled-depth trolling?  This year I put together a few lead core combos, and I'm also looking into three-way rigging, bottom bouncing, etc.  I'm wondering whether it is better to troll floating, suspending, or countdown-style hardbaits when the depth of the bait is controlled by either heavy sinkers or lead core line.

Any help is appreciated.  Thanks.

finlessbrown

Re: Trolling Stickbaits and Weight???
« Reply #1 on: Apr 28, 2010, 06:00 PM »
i've haven't heard of many trout or salmon caught on stick baits where i live (vermont). all of my luck comes from trolling spoons of many different colors and designs, but usually a michigan stinger. hope this helps.

baginwal

• MFF Mod Team
  • No Politics Just Fish!
« Reply #2 on: Apr 29, 2010, 10:22 AM »
We have done very well for walleye using the reef runner series (especially the deep divers) off the boards.

Thor

« Reply #3 on: Apr 29, 2010, 12:34 PM »
Thanks for the tip.  I don't have any Reef Runners - yet.  I assume that you are using them for suspended fish off of boards, and these would probably be great with my lead core rigs.