FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Steelhead mount  (Read 9559 times)

Dr. IceGeek

Steelhead mount
« on: Oct 15, 2007, 06:59 PM »
Here's a steelhead I recently completed in my basement.  It's my first attempt at one.  Mounted up this female in spawning colors.  It's a skin mount but I custom molded and cast a head for it as well as made molds for the fins.  Now that I've finally got everything set up in my new house I figure I can get back to mounting a few fish every now and again.  It's not the best mount, I know there are somme flaws but I think it's acceptable for the most part especially as it was my first attempt at one.  Anyways just thought you all might like to see it.
Thanks for looking
-Bob

Fish Farmer

Re: Steelhead mount
« Reply #1 on: Oct 15, 2007, 07:16 PM »
Thats a nice looking skin mount. I think the colors came out fantastic!

sallyfontanally

« Reply #2 on: Oct 15, 2007, 07:22 PM »
So when are you gonna open for business????Your "amateur"mounts are nicer than some of the pro's in my neck of the woods...very nice,you should consider mounting for clients.

Gotta love them brookies!

Dr. IceGeek

« Reply #3 on: Oct 15, 2007, 07:59 PM »
Sally...thanks for the kind words.  Really though my day job keeps me plenty busy.  It would certainly be nice to do a few on the side, but I'm afraid it might take the fun out of it. Who knows what the future holds though. 

pikemaster789

• MIRC!
« Reply #4 on: Oct 16, 2007, 05:17 AM »
Great job Icegeek, skin mounts can be pretty tough, did you use a form or mache for the inside? Ive been thinking about doing a steelhead too, if I can catch one. I always have a problem getting a fish to fill out correct with mache. So I was wondering if I should give a form a shot.

Fishing is life

MIRC!

Dr. IceGeek

« Reply #5 on: Oct 16, 2007, 06:04 AM »
Pikemaster,