FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: motor weight vs. HP hull rating  (Read 3158 times)

double-aught

motor weight vs. HP hull rating
« on: Sep 30, 2009, 09:16 AM »
i have a 15HP 4 stroke that weighs about as much as a 40HP 2 stroke.
my buddy has a smallish (narrow) 14' aluminum boat. i'm not sure of the HP rating for his boat, but i doubt it's more than 15.
so, my motor would't over power it, but would it be too heavy?
are the hull ratings intended so boats wouldn't be over powered or wouldn't be over weighted?
smaller 4 strokes are relitively new to the scene, and his boat is from the the 60's or early 70's.
thanks for any advice you might have.

Spitfire

• A.K.A." Double-L" on I.S.
Re: motor weight vs. HP hull rating
« Reply #1 on: Sep 30, 2009, 01:02 PM »
   I'm not an expert/ but I don't believe that it would be too much HP.???......Just remember to always use "common sense".......You don't have to run the motor @ full throttle......Pretty sure that the boat will let you know if it is overpowered or not?.......I'd be willing to bet that the 15hp would be more than enough & used properly , make a very nice rig....My 2 cents,   Lou
CATCH & RELEASE  "For Another Day"

double-aught

« Reply #2 on: Sep 30, 2009, 01:46 PM »
thanks for the input, but i'm more worried about excess weight on the transom. i'm no speed demon,  so power isn't a factor other than having enough to get the boat up on plane.
we just want to fish.

floatinwoody

« Reply #3 on: Sep 30, 2009, 01:52 PM »
you can beef up the transom if needed , but a 15 hp..even a 4 stroke wouldn't be as much a 40 2stroke. Your fine if the transom is good.

billditrite

• Retired MFF Mod
  • R.I.P. brother Micheal Danis 10/10/54 - 4/3/09
« Reply #4 on: Oct 07, 2009, 12:56 PM »