FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: New guy needs help please!  (Read 3531 times)

Steuben1

New guy needs help please!
« on: Mar 11, 2009, 07:35 PM »
Hey folks, I am new at chasing Walleyes.  I kinda got addicted to Eyes from Ice fishing on Saginaw Bay last winter.  I bought some Northland Baitfish Spinners and am wondering how to rig it and how to fish it?  Can anyone help?  I also am asking for your advice on what tackle I should buy so I can be prepared?  I bought some jig heads and grub tails already.  What else should I add?

Thanks,

Jeff

octanehi5

• WORK WAS MADE FOR PEOPLE WHO DON'T FISH
Re: New guy needs help please!
« Reply #1 on: Mar 15, 2009, 04:39 PM »
Jeff I am an avid walleye fisherman, if your jiging I use a jig called the knuckel ball by fin-tech with gulp alive minnow or twister tales, trolling bottom bounsers with worm harness or swim baits (paddle tale) ,or planer boards with deep diving crank baits, also slip bobber fishing with live bait
If it was easy they would have called it catchin,not fishin

Natty

« Reply #2 on: Mar 15, 2009, 05:11 PM »
I use to fish the conn. river alot............with 1oz egg weight's on the main line a small split shot and then a swivel 4ft of leader and a worm harness drop the egg right on bottom .....Go slow wind drift use trolling motor to stay in control and when there's no wind. Works great :thumbup_smilie:

Adam Bomb

• Avid Walleye Fisherman
« Reply #3 on: Apr 01, 2009, 02:01 PM »
Hey Stueben1,
Since you got hooked on eye fishing on Saginaw Bay this winter than i would assume thats where you plan to target them this open water season.

So, ill give my local perspective on things, which is a trolling gig on Saginaw Bay. These methods will also work on other Great lakes waters as well.