FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Latest Creation  (Read 7593 times)

Dr. IceGeek

Latest Creation
« on: May 15, 2005, 06:49 PM »
Here is my latest creation to come out of the basement.  It's my first attempt using fiberglass instead of the more traditional skin mount.  Up to this point all the taxidermy I have been playing around with for the last year have been skin mounts.  Here I made a mold of the smallmouth I caught (it's not a monster or anything...about 17") and then proceeded to lay it up in fiberglass.  Once the cast was complete I then painted it, although it was much more difficult because you don't have the original markings on the skin to help you out.  I took advantage of the fact that both sides of the cast are acceptable and made a 3D mount out of it.  Let me know what you guys think.  I am considering starting a little something on the side once I get a bit more experience....any advice or criticism is always appreciated!
Dr. IceGeek

and here's another view

Deposit

Re: Latest Creation
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2005, 07:09 PM »
Wow!! you have some talent. Is this a kit your using? Seems like it would be a good hobby!

Dr. IceGeek

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2005, 07:23 PM »