FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Old car battery for trolling?  (Read 17646 times)

evanesce

Old car battery for trolling?
« on: May 09, 2012, 01:53 PM »
I got an old car battery that my dad was about to trash.  I charged it and seems to hold a decent charge.  I'm going to test it out as to how much juice it has.  The guy I bought the boat from owes me a marine battery and he's so busy to find it for me, so in the meantime, there's no harm in using this clunker battery to its death?  Your thoughts appreciated!

TheDL

Re: Old car battery for trolling?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2012, 02:16 PM »
I'm no battery expert, but I'm sure we'll hear from some.  I would think a car battery would be more akin to a starting/cranking battery that won't put out the consistent amps you need to run your trolling motor - it'll probably crap out on you real fast...espcially being an old one. 

Sounds like the guy you bought the boat from is giving you the run around?  Do your self a favour and get a new battery - you'll be glad you did when you need it.
tight lines....

NYSporty

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2012, 02:25 PM »
Running your trolling motor will drain it quicker than a marine battery. deep cycle means the battery puts out constant voltage longer. I'm sure the car battery will work but it may be for 15 min depending how bad off it is.
Make sure you bring some oars.
But like DL said get a good deep cycle battery even if you get the other one having 2 is never a bad thing.
PS Stay away from the Neverstart ones at wallmart they are junk.

stripernut

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2012, 02:30 PM »
Amps are amps and it will run a trolling motor... The problem is the plates in a starting battery are thinner (thin to give up amps fast for starting) then in a deep cycle and can/will warp and kill the battery. You will want to look and see how many Amp Hours the battery has to give you a idea of how long it will run your trolling motor. Good luck!

evanesce