FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Minnkota Endura C2 transom mount electric water inside...  (Read 1755 times)

taxid

As was indicated I had boat dock issues recently where I had my boat swamped due to high waves off a 7 mile long lake. My small transom mount endura C2 got water inside. I took the head cover off and there is no water in the head now. Apparently the circuit boat is sealed too, or there isn't one. Looks like relays instead, but I'm no electrician. However, curious if water went down the shaft to the prop end if that is an issue as in corrosion issues later?  I am going to call Minn Kota customer service during the day tomorrow but thought I would throw this on here to see if anyone has any experience with this. 

No I haven't turned it on yet as I was worried I might have a waterlogged circuit board inside before I opened up the head cover.
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

taxid

Re: Minnkota Endura C2 transom mount electric water inside...
« Reply #1 on: Oct 01, 2021, 10:13 AM »
O.K. talked to customer service and it's possible water did get into the lower motor unit. He said to pull one of the bolts and see if there is indication of issues etc. as moisture cruddy water etc. Something about cleaning off a stainless steel bolt but the main concern are the brushes that could deteriorate.

The motor is only $99.00 so if push comes to shove I think I'd just buy another one if I need to. I use it as a back up if I have outboard motor issues or on a few local lakes with electric motors only. Now that I have a terrova it may not even be necessary.

“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

lowaccord66

« Reply #2 on: Oct 01, 2021, 02:36 PM »
I have a 55lb transom unit I can send you.  Just pay shipping.

taxid

« Reply #3 on: Oct 01, 2021, 06:05 PM »
I have a 55lb transom unit I can send you.  Just pay shipping.