FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: That's it! I'm done telling people about the perch...  (Read 898 times)

LundProv

Good evening...  I changed my mind...  Perch fishing was outstanding today on the big pond as was the company.  Holy Cow!  When we arrived this AM at 5:15 in Portage, you would have thought they were giving something away for free as the parking lot was packed and rigs were stacked up on the gravel parking area.  The fog was incredibly thick and I thought for a second to just head home.  But what the heck... you spend a lot of dough for these fance electronics with trails and all the bells and whistles so we launched and slowly made our way down the ditch.  You truly could not see very far in any direction so you just moved very slow and careful.  We fished the mouth of the ditch for maybe 30 minutes and did not catch any and saw none caught.  I started studying my electronics and noticed on my charts, I had trails that headed to the east where I usually go in front of the state park.  So, I thought, let's trust the electronics and proceed cautiously east.  Again, visibility was really limited and as I navigaged following the dotted trail on the Garmin, I started to get more courage.  Pretty soon, I am on plane and cruising cautiously along.  I just get past the mouth of the port, according to the gps and I hear this very close, incredibly loud fog horn.  Yes, that was pretty scary and I made sure I stayed pretty close to the rock wall areas cause I figured those big boats or barges or whatever would not get close to the walls.  So, about the time we got to the donut, the fog had breaks in it here and there and the rest of the day was a breeze.  I had my buddy Ralph (95 yo) with me and we went to where I was yesterday, in front of the state park beach.  Saw nothing on the sonar in 35' of water and slowly worked towards shore with the minn kota.  Harvested 6 nice perch on that drift but they were very few and far between.   There were no other