FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Sabiki rigs?  (Read 2529 times)

Swampking89

Sabiki rigs?
« on: Jun 25, 2018, 03:45 PM »
OK I know I'm a newb to Maine fishing,but what is a Sabiki rig?i heard they use them to catch bait.is it some kind of umbrella rig or something? Heading to Wells July 4th week and want the grandkids to catch something.thanks!!

joefishmore

Re: Sabiki rigs?
« Reply #1 on: Jun 25, 2018, 03:53 PM »
Sabiki rig is used for catching herring or mackerel and has 5 very sharp hooks so you don't want one of those around small children

Swampking89

« Reply #2 on: Jun 25, 2018, 04:41 PM »
They're not that little (11 & 7). I'd be doing the casting.do you use a bobber?how far from bottom?thanks Joe!!

robbfishing

« Reply #3 on: Jun 25, 2018, 04:54 PM »
They are similar to a mackrel tree . But razor sharp! I'd second the no kids rule  ;)

boondox

« Reply #4 on: Jun 25, 2018, 07:31 PM »
I tie mine but use this method in video..

I buy supplies from purple taco flies or michels arts crafts etc.. and tie up sabiki hooks.. I use size 2 or 4 Aberdeen hook for like pan fish that are gold.. and lash the purple taco lure material to the hook with bright tying thread and or 5 minure epoxy the head I dye the epoxy with auto air color paint or similar brughtly colored paint.. mixed in the five minute epoxy..  most of the time I use mylar and white thread with a bright epoxy color for the head..  any how tieing mono to hook I use a quick snell or egg loop knot...  there the same thing also a uni knot for the main branch as seen in video watch it closely.. I only use 4 hook but no more then 5  I would stick with 3 or 4 my self.. just a heads up..  if you need to pinch the barBS down with pliers law dependant of corse. Best of luck.. 

https://youtu.be/IumY_tFwzeo

fish wayniac

« Reply #5 on: Jun 26, 2018, 05:11 AM »