FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: advise on crappies?  (Read 6147 times)

bradmoun

advise on crappies?
« on: Mar 16, 2010, 03:04 PM »
hey guys newbie here just looking for some advise for crappie fishing this spring about when do they start to spawn  what are the best baits to use minnows, jigs, flies any advise would be appreciated

ryno-salmon-slayer

• Fish On
Re: advise on crappies?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 16, 2010, 03:22 PM »
RIGHT NOW Is a good time to start targeting them...i been doin fairly well witha  minnow under a bobber.....as the fishing picks up u can use tubes..and other jigs but as of today minnows have been the key!

jiggalo

• TROLL! TROLL !TROLL!
« Reply #2 on: Mar 16, 2010, 03:27 PM »
Good advice from salmon slayer-slow and subtle right now. Crappies start spawning when surface temps are in low to mid 60's. As the water warms jigs and small cranks are deadly! You just have to let them tell you what they want. Good luck!

big70bo

« Reply #3 on: Mar 16, 2010, 05:14 PM »
I would definitely stick to the minnows under a bobber for the crappie. I also like to take a small jig head with hair and tip it with a minnow (hooked through the tail) and drift the lake as long as the wind is blowing a little.
The two best times to fish is when it's rainin' and when it ain't

Crappie Expree

« Reply #4 on: Mar 16, 2010, 05:37 PM »
i agree stick with the minnow unless you want less action and bigger fish.
Take a kid fishing!

crappie66

• BOILER UP
« Reply #5 on: Mar 16, 2010, 05:52 PM »