FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Baitcast Reel tips  (Read 3996 times)

Gorilla

Baitcast Reel tips
« on: Mar 13, 2009, 12:43 PM »
So I bought my first baitcast reel.  I have been looking at them for a couple of years, and a fishing trip with my brother-in-law got me to pull the trigger.  He was casting further and was able to stop the lure on a dime, to get into the tightest of weedbeds and brush overhangs.

So I picked up a medium combo at Cabelas from Shakespear..  it has a magnetic breaking system and the (I do not know the name) sewing machine looking piece to evenly load the line on the real.  I loaded it up with some 20lb berkley big game braided line and tied on a the heaviest Jig I owned.

I started practicing flipping a little bit in the living room, aiming for the dog's water bowl...  I was doing pretty good at this short distance.  I figured I had the break set right, controlled fall so I decided it was time to give it a real wirl...  well lets just say it was less then successful.   

I started small and could cast 10 - 15 feet with little issue.  Adjusted the break a bit and was doing a little better, but once I tried to cast it with a little bit of force...TWANG backlash stopped the lure halfway out.  I fought out the backlash a couple of times, and was finally able to get a cast to go all the way, and then back to the backlash.

Pretty long set-up for a basic question... any suggestions for using a baitcaster real, or any casting "drills" that can help me out cast that Bro-in-law of mine come our camping trip this summer.

camocrazy82

• Watch EM'! Watch EM'! GET EM'!
Re: Baitcast Reel tips
« Reply #1 on: Mar 13, 2009, 03:05 PM »
Practice, practice and more practice. The magnetic brake system needs to be messed with depending on size of lure. Im no good over hand but got a pretty good side arm. Your thumb plays a big roll too.

Gorilla

« Reply #2 on: Mar 14, 2009, 03:00 PM »