FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Striped bass gear question  (Read 1259 times)

Jethro

• I fish, therefore I am... always buying gear
Striped bass gear question
« on: Aug 19, 2021, 02:22 PM »
Asking on the MA board because there seems to be more saltwater focused folks here on a regular basis.

I'm new to fishing the salt, been a few years I've been at it, mostly focused on ground fishing but my buddy is trying to get me to speed on stripers. He tells me that for live lining mackerel it's imperative to have a reel with a rear drag. Ok, so I go on a search since I really don't prefer to buy fishing gear online, I just want to buy at a real shop. After about a half dozen of my favorite shops and I have not found one, single reel for sale with a rear drag. I finally get to Kittery Trading Post and the only spinning setup with a rear drag they have is a very expensive Shimano. I'm kinda not looking to go that way.. I want a nice reel but I'm not spending $400 on one.

So my question is.. are these reels impossible to find because they are in such high demand, or because no one buys them? Is this really something essential for fishing live bait on the ocean?

stripernut

Re: Striped bass gear question
« Reply #1 on: Aug 19, 2021, 02:28 PM »
There are other reels out there, but BassPro has Baitrunners for under $200, so Cabelas most likely has them... I will lend you a couple if you want to try them out...

SalmonAndStriper Stalker

• landlocked salmon,stripers,lake trout,trout,bass
« Reply #2 on: Aug 19, 2021, 03:20 PM »
The style of reel you are looking for is called a baitrunner. it's not imperative to have a bait runner while fishing live mackerel. I 3 way my mackerel on a tight line and still hook up. if a big bass wants it it's swallowing it In one gulp. you can find penn, okuma, and shimano baitrunners

PikeKing23

« Reply #3 on: Aug 19, 2021, 04:18 PM »