FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Superlines  (Read 7726 times)

Skipper

• MFF Mod Team
  • Fish for uglies!
Re: Superlines
« Reply #30 on: Jun 29, 2006, 08:26 PM »
I have used a single wrap of hockey stick tape around the barrel of my spool to prevent slipage with great success. Once you put the tape on the spool, you just leave it there forever, you never have to mess with it again. The superline really bites into the tape, it really works good.

Left Handed Model

• I know it's backwards, I'm Left Handed..
« Reply #31 on: Jun 29, 2006, 08:31 PM »
Do you ever have problems when the Tape gets wet or do you ever notice the adhesive on the line?
Mike aka: Lefty, the Yellow Pole Guy..GO TEAM MAINE!!
"Do unto others, as you would have done to you"

fishboy

« Reply #32 on: Jun 29, 2006, 08:52 PM »
Good thread!  Slipbob's advise is right on! I have been using braid for jiggin eyes for several years and have had all the things he talks about happen.  Everybody on here seems to really like the firelines but I have been using the stren superbraid with great results and its a little cheaper.   By the way I took some braided line on my tuna trip last year and the mates expressed their dislike of it every chance they got.  They said it was very dagerous to work with when the fish are 50lbs or more as a hard run would easily burn right through a glove.

Again good thread

T
Swim with the fishes
live with the fishes
act like the fishes
smell like the fishes!

Skipper

• MFF Mod Team
  • Fish for uglies!
« Reply #33 on: Jun 29, 2006, 09:12 PM »
Do you ever have problems when the Tape gets wet or do you ever notice the adhesive on the line?

Hockey stick tape stays sticky when its wet, and I have never had more than the first wrap of line get sticky. How often do you get down to that last wrap of line?

Left Handed Model

• I know it's backwards, I'm Left Handed..
« Reply #34 on: Jun 29, 2006, 09:14 PM »