FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Casting  (Read 2496 times)

Big Burk

Casting
« on: Jul 11, 2006, 12:03 AM »
I am new to fly fishing and i cant cast more than 12ft. in front of me. any tips on how to cast properly and farther and the best retrieve.

devil-man

Re: Casting
« Reply #1 on: Jul 11, 2006, 05:05 AM »
I am new to it myself.
Do you know anyone that fly-fishes? It is really something best shown in person by someone that has some experience...

You could check out this site. They have a beginner's page.
www.sexyloops.com
Other than that, just keep practicing and remember:
You're casting the line, not the fly.

Coldfeet

• MFF Mod Team
« Reply #2 on: Jul 11, 2006, 06:34 AM »
Big Burk
The biggest problems with first timers using a fly rod is they try to go too fast. Slow yourself down let the rod do the work for you. You need a short pause on the backcast to allow the line to straighten out and load the rod before moving your arm forward. Second problem with beginners is using you wrist instead of arm. Its a hard habit to break because of conventional fishing where using the wrist makes for a better cast with less fatigue. Other problems with beginners are  the 10 to 2 position of the cast where you are most likely going farther on the back cast and forward motion. This does not allow the line to come through the guides enough before it crashes down on the water. And one more thing to add is make sure you have a good weight forward line this will help in the casting also. Do yourself a favor and in roll in a class learn the how too's also keep practicing. Dont worry about making those 100ft casts just yet get the short casts down pat first  it will happen for you. you just need time.
Did you put the plug in the boat?

flockshot

• the official "shirt" of MIRC
« Reply #3 on: Jul 11, 2006, 07:31 AM »