FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: salmon?  (Read 4641 times)

Scotty D

salmon?
« on: Sep 11, 2010, 09:39 AM »
Hey guys,  I know the salmon at wachusett and quabbin  run up the rivers in the fall. does anybody know when they start going up?
fishing soothes the soul

taxid

Re: salmon?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 11, 2010, 10:27 AM »
Hey guys,  I know the salmon at wachusett and quabbin  run up the rivers in the fall. does anybody know when they start going up?

When the season closes?  ;D

Sorry as a former Mass resident I couldn't resist.  :-[

I wonder if a call to one of your district biologists could give you the info you need?
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

RippinLips

« Reply #2 on: Sep 11, 2010, 05:55 PM »
Hey guys,  I know the salmon at wachusett and quabbin  run up the rivers in the fall. does anybody know when they start going up?

I fish the Wachusett Rez and its tributaries a lot in the fall. They start running up the stream in late September through October but the most important factor is rain. The best time is after the first good rainfall at least a couple of inches where the river should rise and draw them in. Good luck!

taxid

« Reply #3 on: Sep 11, 2010, 10:57 PM »
No worries about me fishing there as I live 900 miles away but what's the biggest you've caught running up the tiribs rippinlips? Do they get lockjack like king salmon?
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

deerhunter

« Reply #4 on: Sep 13, 2010, 07:14 AM »
they shouln't alow the salmon to be caught when they are spawing but. at least catch and release. late sept and into oct is good. the low water level may keep alot of fish from going into the rivers.

taxid

« Reply #5 on: Sep 13, 2010, 09:00 PM »