FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: lake champlain (trolling salmon)  (Read 7404 times)

aj454

lake champlain (trolling salmon)
« on: Mar 21, 2012, 10:54 AM »
Want to go to champlain (Westport will be where im at) and troll for some salmon. Need to know what type of rig,how deep, how far out, what kind of line. Can anyone help with some info for a beginner?? ???

PSC13

Re: lake champlain (trolling salmon)
« Reply #1 on: Mar 21, 2012, 12:02 PM »
Im a beginner also but i have been google searching tips for catching salmon and have come up with alot of information.  I plan on fishing Cumberland bay on Lake Champlain this friday and try out the tips i found and see if they work.  Many websites i looked at said to troll a smelt imitation lure just a few feet below the surface around inlets and to troll in an S or zig zag pattern and some sites said 2-3mph and some said 1mph so im just going to try different speeds and see what works.  They also said that if its a sunny day the salmon will stay down deeper to avoid the sunlight so you might have to troll deeper.

aj454

« Reply #2 on: Mar 21, 2012, 12:18 PM »
yea i was told 40 to 5o feet down.  Im goin to westport saturday and try my luck. Let me know how you did friday.  I also am surfing the web  and getting alot of info too.

bailey63

« Reply #3 on: Mar 21, 2012, 12:50 PM »
Hey guys i would try from top to whatever depth they show up on fishfinder. I would run from 1.8 to 2.5 mph drag spoons my early spring go to patterns are chickenwing, habanaro, ice frog, glow frog,  42nd spoon and anything with good nix of purple ex kovorkian. Good colors are also anything blue n green silver start dragging and give em more of what they want. If your lucky some locals will be out and i am thinking you wont have to go deep for them. Look for boats set up in general area but be kind don't move in on other boats but sure you wouldn't any how. Good luck
Fishing WNY on "facebook"
22' Islander "H"EYE STRUNG