FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Small Trolling Motor battery  (Read 7636 times)

bassjunky

• MFF Mod Team
  • Team Ontario
Small Trolling Motor battery
« on: Aug 16, 2005, 04:40 PM »
I have a normal size battery for my trolling motor, but since I am running it out of my canoe it takes up more room then I would like, not to mention its d**n heavy.

Anybody know where I can find a lighter battery? I have been looking at lawn tractor batteries and jetski batteries but i was not sure if they would do the trick

trout sen-sei

Re: Small Trolling Motor battery
« Reply #1 on: Aug 16, 2005, 05:28 PM »
Walmart has a small one and its only $39.99 I believe.

Water Wolf

• BE YOURSELF - everyone else is taken.
« Reply #2 on: Aug 16, 2005, 05:28 PM »
 I have never tried it before but I do know that the batteries for a ATV are nice and small, not sure how long they would last. I do know thought that Minn Kota offers an on-board charger to keep the battery life up. I my self use the Eliminator Solar panel from Canadian tire to keep my battery charging as I go.

WW
Calmly Waiting For Opening Day

fishryc

« Reply #3 on: Aug 17, 2005, 11:47 AM »
Walmart has a small one and its only $39.99 I believe.

I don't know if a small one will hold enough charge. I just returned a $68.00 really big battery to Wall Mart because it only lasted 30 minutes on my canoe. It wasn't a marine battery, but it had 1050 cold cranking amps which is HUGE. Most cars use 650 to 850 CCA's. Hope this helps-
"A liberal is someone who feels a great debt to his fellow man; a debt he proposes to pay off with your money".

"Defeat the fear of death and welcome the death of fear.”

G. Gordon Liddy

fishmix

• striper mania!!!
« Reply #4 on: Aug 17, 2005, 05:44 PM »
fishryc    1050 cold cranking amps which is HUGE.