FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: What is a good pressure reading?  (Read 1376 times)

Basspro23

• Bass. A word that turns serious fisherman on.
What is a good pressure reading?
« on: Jun 28, 2011, 05:33 PM »
Is 30.10 good? with it rising? I'm still learning the basics of pressure reading.
Fishing is the sport of drowning worms.

adkRoy

• MFF Mod Team
  • I'd rather be at camp.
Re: What is a good pressure reading?
« Reply #1 on: Jun 28, 2011, 07:00 PM »
The higher the pressure, the better the weather. the lower the pressure, more chance of a storm coming.

Fish

« Reply #2 on: Jun 30, 2011, 04:39 PM »
The higher the pressure, the better the weather. the lower the pressure, more chance of a storm coming.

What's an average number for High pressure then??? What's better for fishing, low or high pressure?  :-\

adkRoy

• MFF Mod Team
  • I'd rather be at camp.
« Reply #3 on: Jun 30, 2011, 05:53 PM »
What's an average number for High pressure then??? What's better for fishing, low or high pressure?  :-\

High pressure is usually above 30 .    as for whats better for fishing, I've really never seen a difference.

BBK

« Reply #4 on: Jul 02, 2011, 06:43 PM »

That totally depends on where you live.

Here in Iowa 30.00 is normal, below that and the fish go crazy above and the fish slow down.

Madpuppy

• HOWASAPA
« Reply #5 on: Jul 02, 2011, 07:04 PM »
Here in Nebraska we go by how high your blood pressure is, if we go more than a week without fishing our blood pressure spikes and we have to go fishing ;D
Seriously though, low pressure has always been better for me, I would echo BBK's #'s.
I'D RATHER BE HATED FOR WHO I AM,
THAN LOVED FOR WHO I'M NOT.

Reel Force

« Reply #6 on: Jul 02, 2011, 07:46 PM »
Mine would be: 120 over 72 ... but higher on a good day and lower on a bad ......

filetandrelease

« Reply #7 on: Jul 02, 2011, 08:14 PM »
Mine would be: 120 over 72 ... but higher on a good day and lower on a bad ......