FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Spring walleye help  (Read 19714 times)

TheDL

Spring walleye help
« on: Mar 30, 2011, 10:29 AM »
I am fairly new to Walleye fishing - done the bass thing to death (still love it) - but I enjoy a challenge and so far, walleye has been challenging ???.  Got completly skunked trolling bay of quinte in the fall, picked up a few good ones vertical jiggin on the ice - but the spring is coming, and I am looking for techniques and especially help with walleye  ???patterns.

Let's hear your spring walleye tips - where are you finding 'em?  Where rivers run into bay/lake?  Deep/shallow?  Time of day?  Bottom bouncers? Spinners?  Stick baits?  Bait?

???
tight lines....

slipperybob

Re: Spring walleye help
« Reply #1 on: Mar 30, 2011, 05:43 PM »
I don't have any special techniques for walleyes.  I just get close to the dam or hit some wingdams.  Next maybe some sandbars or gravel bars.  Usually just lazy lindy rigs or slipbobber rigs.  Do the typical jig and minnow when I feel like it.
Slip bobber fishing and ice lounger.

Slipperybob's Wish to Fish and MN Dish...Journal

TheDL

« Reply #2 on: Mar 31, 2011, 01:33 PM »
thanks slippery bob - looks like I've got some learning to do - never tried lindy rigs before, looks like a good tactic tho.  Do you just use lindy rigged worm/leech or are you attaching a lure to that kind of rig?
tight lines....

MattR

« Reply #3 on: Mar 31, 2011, 10:51 PM »
When river fishing for Walleyes, the wolf river rig is my favorite. Just do a google search on the text I made in bold and you will get instructions on making your own. Simple and fairly cheap to make a few.

Matt

TheDL

« Reply #4 on: Apr 01, 2011, 10:25 AM »
thanks Matt - I'll give that a try.  I think I'm going to take some to time before the May7th opener and try to make some home made rigs.  I'm thinking worm harnesses, "wolf river rigs" and some lindy rigs and such.  I've never used any of these - anyone got some tips?