FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: new to flyfishing  (Read 9677 times)

daffydone

new to flyfishing
« on: Mar 10, 2004, 03:59 PM »
hey guy's, I am new to the world of flyfishing, My brother in law gave me his old rod and reel, which was very nice of him, anyway, I don't have the foggiest idea as how to get started, I know nothing about what type of lines there are or what type of leader to use, I will probably be fishing for crappies and bass, and maybe some walleyes. I don't own any flies or other fly tackle.   I would love to try this part of the sport, so any help would be greatly appreciated. 8)

Cider

Re: new to flyfishing
« Reply #1 on: Mar 10, 2004, 04:06 PM »
Welcome aboard!

You will find that this is an amazing way to catch fish.  There is a true science to this.  You will learn basic fish biology and how they behave in their native habitats and you will learn a whole lot about entymology.  You will also learn how to read water to predict where fish will be.

The greatest thing is all the gadgets and gear, not to mention taking up the sport of fly tying.  Thread, yarn, feathers, etc will take on a whole new meaning!

I would recommend picking up a couple of basic books.  Orvis and LL Bean have some excellent beginners guides.

Read through the posts here and ask a lot of questions!  Don't be afraid to jump in anytime...

rgfixit

• MFF Mod Team
« Reply #2 on: Mar 10, 2004, 07:30 PM »
Daffydone,
I'd suggest targeting some bluegills at a local pond to start. They're very willing, and suceptable to all types of fly patterns.

You can learn a variety of casting techniques with ease. Especially if the pond is without trees and other obstructions.
You'll learn to handle these by necessity.

Poppers and rubber spiders work well and are readily available .

What is the flyrod you were given? What line weight is it made for and how long is it? The information should be marked on the butt section of the rod somewhere.

What reel is with it?

RG