FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: smelt  (Read 3578 times)

reubenpa

smelt
« on: Apr 04, 2006, 11:31 AM »
how do you cook those little things and how do you eat them??????   HELP ME  thanks all
Just wanna be fishing, not just wishin

tucker

• central NY, heart of tax and spend
Re: smelt
« Reply #1 on: Apr 04, 2006, 11:55 AM »
batter them with egg and flour and deep fry.

reubenpa

« Reply #2 on: Apr 04, 2006, 02:30 PM »
thanks but then what?  do bones soften or what?  I have never done it before thanks all
Just wanna be fishing, not just wishin

crowkiller

• TASTES LIKE CHICKEN
« Reply #3 on: Apr 04, 2006, 02:32 PM »
you eat the bones and all but the tail is the handle for dippin
OR      [IMG]

tucker

• central NY, heart of tax and spend
« Reply #4 on: Apr 04, 2006, 03:04 PM »
slit their bellies, push out guts, cut off head, wash off, batter, fry, eat whole thing (including the tail), repeat if desired.
the tail is best part, nice and crunchy

MILLERMANKT

« Reply #5 on: Apr 13, 2006, 11:07 PM »
Mac,
I like the idea of the chicken wing sauce. never heard of that. I'll give it a try.  They should be in soon, a friend got a few in Lewiston, but water seems to be abit cold and muddy yet.

Reel Wet Ride

• Team Michigan
« Reply #6 on: Apr 14, 2006, 10:23 AM »
Cut off head, slit from head end to anus, wash out under cold water real well.  I like to shake in a mixture of flour, salt, pepper, ect. and then deep fry for 2-3 min. Serve with frys and chessey grits and ta-da, Dinner Served. The bones disappear for the most part, in real big smelt, the backbone stayes...but I kinda like the crunch.

fishryc

« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2006, 04:42 PM »
The best way I have ever prepared them in a charcoal smoker; smoked withwoodchip of your choice (apple or mesquite are my favorites)