FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Spring Flies?  (Read 2951 times)

livtofish

Spring Flies?
« on: Mar 17, 2009, 08:36 PM »
What are the best flies to use in the Rivers and Streams following ice-out in the Northeast US.  I am new at flyfishing and want to try these waters  this April or May before the hatches start.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

woodfolks

• woodfolks.com
Re: Spring Flies?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 17, 2009, 08:44 PM »
streamers and nymphs
work for me in the spring

sinking line

knurren

• What of it?!
« Reply #2 on: Mar 23, 2009, 08:35 AM »
I guess it depends on what you're getting in to.  Something that happens around here in late April into May is the smelt runs from the lakes up into the rivers.  They go to spawn and the trout and ll salmon are not far behind.  Sometimes good smelt streamer patters work like the winni smelt, frost blue smelt, grey ghost, etc. 
Don't forget about wooly buggers either. 

Early spring you'll find quill Gordons, blue winged olives, and tiny black caddis flies sort of in that order.  That's often followed by the hendrickson hatches we have.  I like carrying bwo and hendrickson emerger patterns as well as some nymphs.  If the streamers aren't working, there's nothing coming off the water, and the nymphs aren't producing, a soft hackle wet fly is ideal.  It can be a good fly when it seems that nothing in particular is going on.

Live free or die trying.

trapper2000

• live the dream...........wear it!!!
« Reply #3 on: Mar 23, 2009, 07:58 PM »
beadhead pheasant tail ,wolly bugger ,hares ear,muddler minnow all fished deep and slow  later on as  hatches start the first olives  addams,light cahills  ,light hendricksons...
                                                                                                                                                 trap
you can destroy buildings  you can't  destroy the  american spirit

seasnapper

« Reply #4 on: Mar 24, 2009, 11:08 AM »