FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Cleaning a fish?  (Read 12317 times)

Busby

Cleaning a fish?
« on: May 14, 2004, 11:22 PM »
what is the best way i have never done it before and would like to try and do it this summer.

Cider

Re: Cleaning a fish?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2004, 09:52 AM »
Busby - what are you fishing for?  It all depends upon the species as to how you are going to clean them.  It also depends upon how you want to prepare or cook them too.  Give me some more details and I will help you out!

I am sure that once this thread takes off, there will be all sorts of members posting interesting tips and techniques here!  Good post!!  Great topic!!  ;D

slipbob

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2004, 10:03 AM »
I can post a fillet tutorial soon if that would help out.  I just need to make my girlfriend deal with watching me fillet fish and take some shots as I clean and zip a walleye.  I could try with the self timer but that's tougher to get some good photos while cleaning a fish.  I want to do that anyway to show people how to zip their eyes.  Zipping is the best way to get the bone line out of the fish.  I will make it a mission this weekend to try to do a photo fillet tutorial if that would help.  Like Cider says it depends on what you are cleaning if it's small trout that's super easy but filleting fish is a little more tricky if you have never done it.  Fisherman Jake had that great burbot cleaning tutorial this winter.

Cider

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2004, 10:07 AM »
I can post a fillet tutorial soon if that would help out. 

Good idea!  Let's use this thread to post photo tutorials like fishermanjake did for burbot cleaning on IceShanty!  Here is the link to that one:

Fishermanjake burbot cleaning 101

grumpymoe

« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2004, 10:09 PM »
thank you cider.....i will post boneless northerns and if i have the chance soon....lake trout as well......grump :P

Cider

« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2004, 11:40 AM »