FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Newbie 2 float tubing  (Read 1947 times)

GillHunternNE

Newbie 2 float tubing
« on: Mar 14, 2004, 11:18 PM »
I'm new to float tubing - I'm wondering what the temperture the water s/b to go out tubin? I live in the midwest and the water temp is aroung the low's 40's.  I have 3.5mm waders?  Are these warm enough or do i need to let the water warm up more?  We are suppose to reach the high 50's possibly 60 by Wednesday thru next Sunday.  I am just wondering about going out by Sat. or Sunday? THANKS !

reelcharacter

• They call it fishing, not catching, for a reason
Re: Newbie 2 float tubing
« Reply #1 on: Mar 14, 2004, 11:34 PM »
Sorry, can't help you on the question. Considering your temperature and weather conditions, just wanted to thank you for rubbin it in. Still have ice and 20-30 degree temps here in Central NY State.

-Reelcharacter
Email me to swap information on fishing holes or to go fish'in sometime in the Syracuse Central NY area (Onondaga and Madison county water holes in particular).

mosquito

« Reply #2 on: Mar 15, 2004, 01:16 PM »
Last time I was floattubing last fall the water was 40F.
I had 3.5 mm waders with long johns and it wasn't so bad.
The only problem was the ice on my fly line line and in the
guides.  Good luck.

GillHunternNE

« Reply #3 on: Mar 15, 2004, 09:37 PM »
Thanks and Sorry - Our weather i'm sure is like anywhere else ,it can change if you wait 5 minutes.  We had a little suprise this morning - SNOW - We only recieved 3-4 inches but - Some areas just north (45-60 miles ) received 8-15".  Guess we were lucky.  Still supose to get around 62 by Saturday.  Wish we would of kept our hardwater a little longer.  I was not able to get out as much i I wanted.  We had just about 6 weeks of good ice.    But  i guess you take what you get and make the best of it.