FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Who's got experience building docks?  (Read 1895 times)

Jethro

• I fish, therefore I am... always buying gear
Who's got experience building docks?
« on: Aug 25, 2023, 09:50 AM »
I just got a house on the water- dream come true, only took 52 years. I have a dock permit in place, what do I need to know about building a dock? I see there are floating docks and docks that sit on mud pads that don't float but are elevated. I'll need to pull this out of the water each winter. My biggest question I guess is how to anchor it to the shore? Do I need to pour a concrete pad or is there something easier?

ActiveTrapChecker

Re: Who's got experience building docks?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 25, 2023, 10:58 AM »
Congratulations on the investment! I wish I could help, but I have no experience or knowledge to share.

Sounds like a fun project

Jethro

« Reply #2 on: Aug 25, 2023, 12:10 PM »
Thanks!

I guess I say that's my only question but I bet I have a lot of questions I don't even know yet.

Mac Attack

« Reply #3 on: Aug 25, 2023, 01:40 PM »
Salt or freshwater Geoff.
The reason I ask is regarding water level fluctuation.
Saltwater has tide considerations.
So, a floating dock is probably best.
Winds, or current?
This will determine how much help you need to keep the dock in place out from the shore.

High winds, waves, and rough water would mean you might want a very solid anchor point on the shore - possibly concrete as you asked.
However, you can also create a simple "saddle" to mount (hinge) the dock from.
Build an "H" with 4x4 pressure treated and sink it into the ground like fence posts with some concrete around the 4x4's to hold them in place.
Fence building has a rule of thumb.
2/3 of the post above ground and 1/3 below.
However, you're anchoring a dock, not a fence post.
I would maybe look at the frost line in your area and sink the 4x4's below that with an additional 6-8" or so.