FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Line strength  (Read 4301 times)

TMadness1013

Line strength
« on: May 27, 2006, 04:10 PM »
Hi all,

I'm brand new to fishing & still trying to learn the ropes.  I just bought myself a new spinning rod & reel combo.  The rod is medium/light action, with 6 lb. test line.

My question is, what happens if I happen to land a big fish such as a pike, that is 10+  lbs.  I know that when bringing her in, I should use the bend of the rod to my advantage to create slack and then reel in.  However, will the 6 lb. line snap anyway simply because the fish weighs more than 6 pounds? 

Should I remove this line and put on a stronger one if I plan to try for bigger fish, or would that not work on a medium/light rod?

Thanks in advance.

J_Maki

Re: Line strength
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2006, 06:52 PM »
As long as your drag is set properly you will have no problem landing a 20+lb fish on 6lb line. Just let your rod and reel do the work instead of the line.

esox slayer

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2006, 07:13 PM »
As long as your drag is set properly you will have no problem landing a 20+lb fish on 6lb line. Just let your rod and reel do the work instead of the line.

Agreed..and don't try to hoist the fish out of the water using the line only..,make sure you have a net or something to take the tension off the line after you are in control of him and have him at the shore or boatside...Esox
Team NY!!Setting the standard for which all others are thrashed!! 
                                                                                Former Marine-Semper Fi!!!

Nickp

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2006, 08:48 PM »
water is denser then air

I believe the ratio is 1 to 50 or so