FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: boat safety  (Read 6228 times)

greensider

Re: boat safety
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2019, 06:42 PM »
Far to many morons out there with no idea how to safely operate a boat and they should teach boating edicut to bass boaters who run all over families just trying to enjoy the day

Mac Attack

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2019, 05:58 AM »
I agree with the required safety course 100%, but not the NYS money grab.
Before I came down here to Florida I took an on line boating safety course.  It was VERY intensive.  A test after every chapter that you had to pass before you could proceed to the next chapter.  If you failed you had to redo the chapter and take the quiz again till you passed.  I failed one and had to redo.  Like 12 chapters.  Then you had a final exam covering all the chapters you had to take and pass.
I have been boating for 40+ years and this class wasn’t easy.
But it was free.
I will probably tell Cuomo to stick it up his poopchute as there is no fine if you get checked and haven’t taken the class.
Again, I’m in favor of the required class but not the fee.

filetandrelease

« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2019, 06:28 AM »
A course is fine , I don’t agree with the money grab ,
 people on the road have to take a test looks like that really is working out , and there are message boards for reminders , and still people text , drive dunk , and don’t wear seatbelts to name a few
 There will always be Richard Craniums
Just another way for the politicians to reach into the pockets of the working class

hunts2long

• Sacandaga
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2019, 06:38 AM »
Should have been a law long ago. The course should be free, you get stopped and not have taken it, then you pay for it. It won't stop a jerk from being a jerk. It gets worst every year...h2l

filetandrelease

« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2019, 06:47 AM »
Agreed hunts , 78% of fatal boating accidents were alcohol related