FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: winterizing your boat and motor  (Read 2982 times)

billditrite

• Retired MFF Mod
  • R.I.P. brother Micheal Danis 10/10/54 - 4/3/09
winterizing your boat and motor
« on: Sep 26, 2004, 05:48 AM »
    the time is just about here to think about winterizing our boats and motors.thought  id start this thread ,thinking between all of us we shouldnt hear any complaining in the spring.
now this is my first year with a boat big enough to have some things to worry about.my 10 horse always finds a nice warm corner for the winter  8) now i have a 90 horse and i am still lucky enough to have a heated garage to keep it in,however, i still want to give it a drink of anti freeze(environmentally safe stuff only)i could use some help here.
   as for the rest of the motor i plan to...
   1. change lower unit oil,if you have any water in there at all you dont want it to freeze,hope fully you dont  :P
   2.grease everything that has a fitting with a good quality marine grade grease.
   3.add fuel stabilizer as per product instructions
   4.run and fog the engine ,and run it out of gas.
as for our boats....
   pull your plug OUT
try no to store anything on your boat that will be attractive to rodents as they will be looking for homes both now and in the spring they love to shred your life preservers to make nests.
   shrinkwrapping is the best protection but can be costly.i plan to build a small tent over my hull and cover with tarps.sharp pitch and pull tight wrinkles hold snow and ice that can damage your boat you want it to shed the weather.prop up your boat at a sharp enough angle to shed any water that does get in there before it freezes.
  take your batteries out and store in a nice dry spot for the winter.
    if ive forgotten anything , and im sure i have, that is the point of this thread, im sure you will let me know.
  i think i still have another 3 weeks before it really starts getting cold enough but its coming soon
Scotty