FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Thinking of purchasing a fishfinder  (Read 5394 times)

Fisher84

Thinking of purchasing a fishfinder
« on: Aug 22, 2012, 12:00 AM »
I fish from shore in the St. Joseph River in northern Indiana. As I'm disabled, I'm not able to see where the fish are quite as easily. I know that the water is typically shallow where I fish (typically 5-15 ft deep) so I wasn't sure if using a fishfinder would help. What do you all think? Yes, I am relatively new to fishing.
If at first you don't succeed, don't go skydiving.

There are no fish in this river.... wait! what the.... I got one!!!

phishinphool

Re: Thinking of purchasing a fishfinder
« Reply #1 on: Aug 22, 2012, 11:43 AM »
Not sure if it would help being a river or not, not sure how strong the current is... but I might have the answer if you wanted to try.  It is called a Humminbird Smartcast Fish Finder.  It is a Remote Sensor that you can toss out with a fishing pole and it reads Temperature, Depth and any Fish in the area back to a Fish Finder that you strap on your wrist like a watch, pretty nifty.  I bouth one the other day, still waiting for it to arrive and can't wait to try it out... $72 @ Amazon.com.  When I receive it sometime next week, I will deffinately let you know the results.  But... I am fishing a lake/resevoir?  But the neat thing is, is it also acts like a bobber and you can fish right from under it... so I bet if you knew the depth you could just rig a sinker to the depth of the fishing area and the Remote Sensor would hold tight while you fish the area.  Hope this helped and best of luck fishing sir!

Fisher84

« Reply #2 on: Aug 22, 2012, 01:09 PM »