FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Boat Rehab  (Read 4744 times)

sbfpa_Mike

• MFF Mod Team
Boat Rehab
« on: Mar 05, 2012, 10:48 AM »
I have started the rehab of the boat. I actually started a month or so ago, I am just getting started on the journal of this project. This is a 1977 Mark Twain V-Sonic 180. It's a 18' walk-through cruiser with a Mercruiser 888. This 18', 188 horse power I/O is a classic that just needs some TLC from me. Here's a couple pics from the time I bought her in 2007.

Here is what I have now....

I have run the boat once in the past 3 years, not at all in the past 2. This is due to financial ramifications. I have half-heartedly tried to sell the boat, but I didn't get any takers and I really didn't try to hard. I have decided to get her back into shape; either to use or sell. The catalyst to getting her ready for sea was a neighbor of mine. He owns a marine interior company, doing all aspects of installing and repairing cushions, carpet, helms, canopies, and covers. He was moving and needed some plumbing work done on the pool in his back yard. I told him I would do the work for trade, not for payment. I did the plumbing, he got me the marine vinyl I needed to recover all the cushions on my boat. I felt I could do all the work myself as it wasn't going to be a professional job, but a functional job.

Mike

sbfpa_Mike

• MFF Mod Team
Re: Boat Rehab
« Reply #1 on: Mar 06, 2012, 07:09 AM »
There are 3 bow cushions, all held in by snaps. I left off the snaps as they are not really needed. If there is any cushion slip, I can put a couple blcoks of wood on the bottom of the 2 side cushions. There are holes for storage on the 2 side cushions, so this would be quite easy. I pulled the 3 out of the bow and set them on end in the garage to let the water drain out. After a week of standing on end, I pulled the old vinyl off the plywood and cushion. I took a screwdriver to each staple to make sure I got every one out of the wood.