FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: Spring/Spinning Musky Gear  (Read 15340 times)

NJChris

Spring/Spinning Musky Gear
« on: Mar 10, 2015, 09:09 AM »
What rods do you guys like when you downsize for muskies? A lot of what I like to throw is pretty small compared to what a lot of guys use, I usually use like  mepps musky killers, some of the smaller musky mayhem bucktails, and some saltwater swimbaits and magnum rapalas. Basically I don't need the latest and greatest new muskie rod that can handle 2lbs of lure. I'm pretty new to fishing for muskies, and I've realized that I do need a bit beefier rod to handle some of the bigger lures I'm throwing. Also, I prefer to use spinning gear because I'm more comfortable using it, and I already have a reel I'd like to use. I'd like to keep the budget around $150 or less. I've been looking at some heavy action saltwater rods, mainly the St. Croix mojo inshore. It seems big enough to handle what I want for muskies, and I could definitely get some bass and blues on it so I can "kill 2 birds with one stone" so to speak. I figured I'd see if you guys had any suggestions before I went ahead and pulled the trigger on the St. Croix.

Raquettedacker

• MFF Mod Team
Re: Spring/Spinning Musky Gear
« Reply #1 on: Mar 10, 2015, 04:23 PM »
Not a musky fisherman but welcome to the site...
Where are you from?
Sometimes we live no particular way but our own.....<br />Strangers stopping strangers just to shake there hand...<br />\"Dying is the easy part. Learning how to live is the hard part....\"

NJChris

« Reply #2 on: Mar 10, 2015, 09:07 PM »
Not a musky fisherman but welcome to the site...
Where are you from?
Thanks bud. I'm from New Jersey

FishinNY

« Reply #3 on: Apr 14, 2015, 11:40 AM »