FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: What Lb. Test?  (Read 3240 times)

yoda

What Lb. Test?
« on: Apr 06, 2005, 07:10 AM »
What pound test line are people using when fishing the fast water?  And what rigs are working best in these type conditions?  I'm new at the trout fishing game so please throw me a bone.   ;D

archbishop

Re: What Lb. Test?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 06, 2005, 07:23 AM »
i just use my 6# test and float a bobber above a gold hook (depending on how deep the water is, how far i put the bobber up usually 24") with 2 heavy split shots 8"-10" above the hook to keep it on bottom in the current and let it bounce along in the current and lately ive been using wax worms or red worms but ive had most of my success out of the current in the eddies and just letting it sit on the bottom or swirl in the current

onyunn

• Bassin'
« Reply #2 on: Apr 06, 2005, 07:33 AM »
I use 2lb Maxima UltraGreen, or 4lb Maxima Chameleon, I sometimes use small Caty Jigs, but mostly a #6 Red Octopus Hook, no swivels, and small lead weights 18" up the line, quantity depends on water current.  I use just enough to get it to the bottom so it bounes along without getting snagged.  I generally use red worms or nightcrawlers.  I also use spinners, but prefer spinner/fly hybrids http://www.clearwaterlures.com I use ultralight gear, including a 5'  Kencor SP5V, with a TICA SS500 Reel, or a BPS Extreme 5'6" Light Action Rod also with a TICA SS500 Reel.
There he stands, draped in more equipment than a telephone lineman, trying to outwit an organism with a brain no bigger than a breadcrumb, and getting licked in the process.  ~Paul O'Neil, 1965

Bobman

• Whoa momma!!!
« Reply #3 on: Apr 06, 2005, 08:05 AM »