FishUSA.com Fishing Tackle

Author Topic: CT Stripers  (Read 2098 times)

Chum Lord

CT Stripers
« on: Mar 31, 2015, 12:54 PM »
whats up guys, Im Blowin Holes on iceshanty. Ive been wanting to try and get better at open water fishing to keep the thrill going and catching stripers sounds like fun.  Anyone wanna throw some advice my way?  like location, type of lures/bait, rod, reel, line, leader?  ANything that can be used for bass and pike too?       
I am a open water newbie and i wanna step up my game.   I only have a canoe so im gonna try and figure out some good spots to put in.   thanks

striper50trout

• Fish hard, live long!
Re: CT Stripers
« Reply #1 on: Mar 31, 2015, 03:06 PM »
Whats up Chum Lord.  I am far from an expert striper fisherman but i can help out a bit.   
I think to start off you should get a 8' or 9' surf rod and a sw reel. Check out something like a Tsunami Airwave for a rod and a Penn Spinfisher or Shimano Stradic for a reel. You can get a decent setup for around $300
I use 40lb Power Pro braid tied to a barrel swivel with about 3' of Seaguar 50lb fluro for a leader. You can obviously use lighter braid and leader if you want. You can tie your leader directly to you plug/lure or use a clip like Tactical Anglers or a duo lock. Clips are great when you want to change plugs often, no retying every time you want to change up.
There are thousands of plugs/lures on the market so just start simple and cheap.  Top water- Gibbs polaris poppers, Zara spooks     Subsurface- Daiwa SP minnows, Rapala Xraps, Cotton Cordel Redfins     Bottom or near bottom- bucktail jigs, swim shads.
You can also use bait like clams, bunker, mackerel or squid fished off a sinker on the bottom. Most bait shops will have the rigs already pre tied.